House authorizers establish 'Future of Defense Task Force' to review capabilities, innovation

By Justin Doubleday / October 18, 2019 at 1:18 PM

The House Armed Services Committee has chartered a special task force to compare the Defense Department's priorities, capabilities and concepts against potential adversaries and long-range threats.

The "Future of Defense Task Force" is co-chaired by Reps. Seth Moulton (D-MA) and Jim Banks (R-IN), according to the committee's announcement today. Reps. Susan Davis (D-CA), Chrissy Houlahan (D-PA), Elissa Slotkin (D-MI), Scott DesJarlais (R-TN), Paul Mitchell (R-MI) and Michael Waltz (R-FL) will also serve on the task force.

The group has been chartered by committee Chairman Adam Smith (D-WA) and Ranking Member Mac Thornberry (R-TX) "to examine the Department of Defense's strategic priorities, capabilities and operational concepts to ensure the national security innovation base is poised to meet long-range emerging threats and the rise of global competitors," according to the panel's announcement.

The initial duration of the task force is three months, after which the group's charter can be renewed for an additional three months.