House Conferees Named

By Tony Bertuca / June 25, 2015 at 4:19 PM

The House has named members to the conference committee tasked with resolving differences with the Senate in the proposed fiscal year 2016 defense authorization bill.

The conferees will be led by House Armed Services Committee Chairman Mac Thornberry (R-TX).

"Members of the House and Senate Armed Services Committees gathered this morning to begin the conference process," according to a statement from the House panel. "At the annual 'pass the gavel' meeting, members were able to raise their initial thoughts and highlight their priorities."

The White House has threatened to veto the bill, however, because it reflects a GOP-crafted budget strategy that circumvents sequestration spending caps for defense without lifting them for non-defense priorities.

"I am encouraged by the manner in which we have reached the next step in this process and look forward to working with my counterpart and the other conferees," Thornberry said in a statement. "We owe it to our troops, their families, and the American people to move forward efficiently and thoroughly. America faces more diverse and serious threats now than at any time. We cannot afford to let partisan issues hinder passage of this bill. I hope the President will think long and hard about his threat to veto the NDAA at a time when he is sending troops into harms way."

A list of Senate conferees has yet to be released.

House lawmakers named to the committee include:

Rep. J. Randy Forbes (R-VA)
Rep. Jeff Milller (R-FL)
Rep. Joe Wilson (R-SC)
Rep. Frank LoBiondo (R-NJ)
Rep. Rob Bishop (R-UT)
Rep. Mike Turner (R-OH)
Rep. John Kline (R-MN)
Rep. Mike Rogers (R-AL)
Rep. Bill Shuster (R-PA)
Rep. Mike Conaway (R-TX)
Rep. Doug Lamborn (R-CO)
Rep. Rob Wittman (R-VA)
Rep. Duncan Hunter (R-CA)
Rep. Vicky Hartzler (R-MO)
Rep. Joe Heck (R-NV)
Rep. Brad Wenstrup (R-OH)
Rep. Elise Stefanik (R-NY)
Rep. Adam Smith (D-WA)
Rep. Loretta Sanchez (D-CA)
Rep. Susan Davis (D-CA)
Rep. James Langevin (D-RI)
Rep. Rick Larsen (D-WA)
Rep. Jim Cooper (D-TN)
Rep. Madeleine Bordallo (D-GU)
Rep. Joe Courtney (D-CT)
Rep. Niki Tsongas (D-MA)
Rep. John Garamendi (D-CA)
Rep. Hank Johnson (D-GA)
Rep. Jackie Speier (D-CA)
Rep. Joaquin Castro (D-TX)
Rep. Tammy Duckworth (D-IL)