Leadership Changes

By Courtney Albon / March 11, 2014 at 6:16 PM

Defense Secretary Chuck Hagel today announced nominees to head Air Force Space Command and Air Mobility Command.

Lt. Gen. John Hyten, who is currently the vice commander of AFSPC, has been nominated to lead that command, succeeding Gen. William Shelton. Shelton has not formally announced plans to retire.

Lt. Gen. Darren McDew, commander of the 18th Air Force, was nominated to serve as commander of Air Mobility Command. AMC's current commander, Gen. Paul Selva, testified this morning in front of the Senate Armed Service's Committee in his own nomination hearing to serve as head of U.S. Transportation Command.