NSA selects intel workforce leader to head cyber collaboration hub

By Sara Friedman / June 21, 2024 at 10:44 AM

Longtime National Security Agency official Kristina Walter is returning to her cyber roots, becoming chief of the intelligence agency's Cybersecurity Collaboration Center after a stint in charge of a federal initiative on workforce development.

“Walter is returning to the Cybersecurity Collaboration Center after her integral role in helping to establish the center in its infancy. Her roles as the strategist for the CCC and chief of Defense Industrial Base (DIB) cybersecurity helped shape the standards and operations of NSA’s DIB Services and overall mission of the CCC,” NSA said in a June 13 release.

Walter, who has worked at NSA for 15 years, most recently led its Future Ready Workforce Initiative, which the agency says “plays a critical role in ensuring that NSA is a premier workplace that combines a fulfilling mission, engaged leadership, and a positive, healthy, and supportive work environment.”

The new CCC leader succeeds Morgan Adamski, who left NSA in May to become the executive director of U.S. Cyber Command.

NSA Director Gen. Timothy Haugh said in a statement, “Kristina’s role in the initial standup of the CCC makes her the perfect person to take on its leadership.” He added that “her recent work as the Director of NSA’s Future Ready Workforce Initiative illustrates her strong commitment to advancing an innovative NSA workforce, which will prove critical for advancing the future-focused mission of the CCC and its efforts to partner with industry, the DIB, and others. I look forward to working with her on this important collaborative endeavor to help safeguard the Nation against malicious cyber activity.”

Walter’s new role at the CCC follows the announcement of David Luber as NSA’s new director of cybersecurity. Luber previously was deputy director of the NSA Cybersecurity Directorate; he succeeded longtime NSA official Rob Joyce, who retired in March after 34 years at the agency, as cybersecurity director.