Senate Armed Services Committee roster finalized

By Tony Bertuca / February 1, 2023 at 5:29 PM

Democrats and Republicans today announced the members who will serve on the Senate Armed Services Committee.

The committee will continue to be chaired by Sen. Jack Reed (D-RI), while Sen. Roger Wicker (R-MS) will succeed retired Sen. Jim Inhofe (R-OK) as ranking member. 

Democrats named to the committee include:

• Sen. Jeanne Shaheen (NH)

• Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand (NY)

• Sen. Richard Blumenthal (CT)

• Sen. Mazie Hirono (HI)

• Sen. Tim Kaine (VA)

• Sen. Elizabeth Warren (MA)

• Sen. Gary Peters (MI)

• Senator Joe Manchin (WV)

• Sen. Tammy Duckworth (IL)

• Sen. Jacky Rosen (NV)

• Sen. Mark Kelly (AZ)

Sen. Angus King (I-ME), an independent who caucuses with the Democrats, will also serve on the committee.

Republicans named to the committee include:

• Sen. Deb Fischer (NE)

• Sen. Tom Cotton (AR)

• Sen. Mike Rounds (SD)

• Sen. Joni Ernst (IA)

• Sen. Dan Sullivan (AK)

• Sen. Kevin Cramer (ND)

• Sen. Rick Scott (FL)

• Sen. Tommy Tuberville (AL)

• Sen. Markwayne Mullin (OK)

• Sen. Ted Budd (NC)

• Sen. Eric Schmitt (MO)

Reed said in a statement he looks forward to working with Wicker on the annual defense authorization bill.

“Together with our colleagues on the Committee, we will continue our bipartisan traditions of rigorous oversight of the Department of Defense and working together to pass a strong National Defense Authorization Act,” Reed said.

Wicker said he would work to uphold the committee’s tradition of bipartisanship.

“During the most dangerous time since the Cold War, it is crucial to work as partners to enhance deterrence and counter our adversaries for the long haul,” he said.

Reed, meanwhile, promised an “ambitious schedule of hearings” that will help the committee work to “match resources with strategic objectives while providing our forces with an enduring advantage, now and in the future.”

Subcommittee leaders and rosters will be announced in the near future when the full committee organizes.