Senate votes to block Trump's national emergency

By Tony Bertuca  
March 14, 2019 at 3:41 PM

(UPDATE: President Trump vetoed the resolution on March 15.)

The Senate voted 59-41 in favor of a resolution terminating President Trump's declaration of a national emergency at the southern border, with 12 Republicans breaking ranks and voting with Democrats. Trump tweeted the word "VETO" shortly after the vote.

Vetoing the resolution would keep the emergency declaration place, guaranteeing the administration access to Pentagon funds to construct the wall.

The Pentagon says it intends to use up to $3.6 billion in military construction funding to build the wall in accordance with the emergency declaration.

Additionally, the Pentagon plans to reprogram up to $2.5 billion into a counternarcotics fund that can be used to build the wall. It remains to be seen whether the Pentagon will seek the approval of Congress before it reprograms the money.

The Republicans who voted to block the emergency declaration are: Sens. Lamar Alexander (TN), Roy Blunt (MO), Susan Collins (ME), Mike Lee (UT), Jerry Moran (KS), Lisa Murkowski (AK), Rand Paul (KY), Rob Portman (OH), Mitt Romney (UT), Marco Rubio (FL), Pat Toomey (PA) and Roger Wicker (MS).