Senate Conferees Named

By Tony Bertuca / July 9, 2015 at 4:01 PM

The Senate announced today its list of lawmakers who will negotiate the proposed fiscal year 2016 National Defense Authorization Act with counterparts from the House.

The conferees are:

·John McCain (R-AZ), Chairman of the Senate Armed Services Committee

·Jim Inhofe (R-OK)

·Jeff Sessions (R-AL)

· Roger Wicker (R-MS)

·Kelly Ayotte (R-NH)

·Deb Fischer (R-NE)

·Tom Cotton (R-AR)

·Mike Rounds (R-SD)

·Lindsey Graham (R-SC)

·Jack Reed (D-RI), Ranking Member of the Senate Armed Services Committee

·Bill Nelson (D-FL)

·Joe Manchin (D-WV)

·Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY)

·Joe Donnelly (D-IN)

·Mazie Hirono (D-HI)

·Tim Kaine (D-VA)

President Obama has threatened to veto any version of the bill that adheres to the GOP's budget blueprint, which calls for leaving sequestration spending caps for defense by increasing the Pentagon's overseas contingency operations account.